Personal Organizing Journey – March 13th-20th

March 13th, 2017

Today, since I am lacking energy for a number of reasons, I decided to start clearing out my email inbox. I had over 500 messages sitting around, and I have whittled that down to 250. I sorted emails that need to be kept into different folders, although there are probably more that I can clear out. Good start to it, though!

I actually have quite a few projects involving organization on both my laptop and desktop computer that I would like to get done, but I often push them aside because I feel like if I am not physically organizing and decluttering then I am not actually being productive. Of course, this isn’t true at all! For someone who uses their computer regularly for a number of reasons, it makes sense to spend time making sure files and folders are organized and well-managed.

So I am reminding myself today, and will probably do so many more times, that working on my computer is not a waste of my time!

March 14th, 2017

I’m still struggling to regain my motivation. I’m spending a lot of time lying around on the couch and watching the PVR so I’m trying to make the most of this time by working on cleaning up my computer.

I started deleting pictures I didn’t need or want anymore. I take pictures of books I want to read, so I started adding them to my “To Read” list on my library account and then getting rid of the pictures. I sorted things into the correct folders and deleted duplicates.

It’s still hard to believe that I am productive when I am not physically sorting through items, but I just have to keep telling myself that this is part of getting my space and my life more organized!

March 15th, 2017

Today one of my best friends came over and helped me with a project I’m working on. I had decided to condense more of the family photo albums so that they took up less space on the bookshelf. I set my friend to finish removing the pictures from albums my mom had put together many years ago. These albums had adhesive pages, so it made getting the pictures out a bit challenging. He had to cut some out with an exacto knife.

I worked on the family albums. I pulled out all of the pictures I want to keep, leaving the duplicates or ones that pertained more to my sister and my dad in the albums for them to go through and take what they want. I am planning to arrange my favourite family photos in the new albums, and all of the others are going to be kept in a photo box.

It was nice to go through those old photos and remember things that had been long forgotten, and I’m excited to put the new albums together to enjoy in the years to come.

March 20th, 2017

A bit of catch up for the last few days.

On Saturday, my boyfriend and I worked on reorganizing the items in our storage unit. We took the yard items that had been stored for the moving process back to the house so we had more room in the unit for my dad to start bringing his things over. I also took 12 boxes of my grandparents’ china and wine glasses back to the house to sort through. My boyfriend and I unpacked everything onto the dining room table so that we could see what was there. The plan is to find out if my aunt wants anything from it and if not, I’m going to try and sell the items I don’t want. I’m keeping more than I intended, but I will re-evaluate in a year or so if the items aren’t being used.

Sunday was my two year anniversary with my boyfriend, so I didn’t spend a lot of time organizing. While he was out and arranging the surprises he had planned for me, I worked on washing the mountain of dishes as well as the items that had been unpacked the day before. I’m realizing that I need to massively reorganize my kitchen cupboards, so that will be a project for the near future.

I’m planning to go through my cookbooks again as well and try to downsize. I have a number of books that are quite a bit older and the cooking styles and methods might be too outdated for my taste.

*****

I’m feeling pumped up and motivated to get more done, and luckily my boyfriend is on leave from work for two weeks, so he’s going to be helping me with certain jobs to get our new house looking put-together and beautiful!

So if you’re struggling to start making progress, remember, even taking ten minutes every day to put things in the right place will get you on the right track. On those days when you’re struggling to get up and declutter, follow my example! There are lots of small tasks you can do on low energy days when all you want to do is lie on the couch and watch bad TV. Clean out your email inbox, sort through a box of miscellaneous objects, gather up the pens around the house and test them out to see which ones still work, or bring over a box of unorganized papers along with folders, marker, and recycling bag.

Organizing your home and your life doesn’t mean you have to dedicate long hours of hard labour every day. Some days you will be hauling boxes and bins, and some days you will be sitting at the table sorting through papers. Some days you will challenge yourself to let go of items that held sentimental value for you, and some days you will find a box of things that you can easily toss out. Some days you will dedicate time to digital organizing, like on your phone, computer, or tablet.

So be proud of the progress you make on whatever sort of day you are having. Every little bit helps!

Happy organizing, everyone!

Leave a Reply

